Final Thoughts

Australia has two national symbols–the emu and kangaroo.  It might seem an odd choice at first but both of these animals have something in common. Neither one can go backwards.
The emu has only 3 toes on each foot, and the kangaroo has an obtrusive tail. Both of these physical attributes make it possible for them to go in only one direction: forward. These symbols represent a proud people and their desire to look ahead as they face their future, together.
Life is like that too. While we might reflect upon our past and hopefully learn from it, our only choice is to move forward as individuals and collectively as a people of faith. That’s what I and my family are doing as we conclude our time with you as pastor and people.
It seems like my 12 years with you all has been reduced to a lot of boxes (more than I anticipated).  The books I’m packing up are like fellow travelers on a journey; many of them have been with me for decades.
I’ll also be taking a lot of memories with me too. My family and I are leaving the Ozarks, but the experiences we’ve had in the Ozarks, this church, and community will go with us. For the times we’ve had in this beautiful part of the world, my family and I are truly grateful.
When I started my work as your Senior Pastor, I promised that I would seek to do three things: preach God’s word, love the church, and lead under the guidance of the Holy Spirit. I leave here with a clear conscience knowing I’ve done my best to fulfill those three commitments.
It is not always easy being a pastor; there are always expectations and very few people truly understand what it’s like to serve in this capacity. It is a sacred stewardship of trust when God brings a pastor and people together. There are blessings and burdens along the way, and we are called to persevere and move forward, together.
God has been good to me and my family. Many of you have had a lot to do with that. Lori, Cally, Lucy, Matt, and I are grateful that this church has been our spiritual home, and we ask that you pray for us as we take our leave of you.
I do want to thank Trey, Abby, Chris, Amy, Julie, Carol, Mark, Dennis, Terri, Audrey, and Tracy for their friendship and faithfulness to the Lord and this church. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed working with them. I’m especially grateful and blessed to have performed the wedding ceremonies for Trey and Abby, and Chris and Amy.
Finally, the greatest gift I can give you all is to leave this ministry stage you’ve graciously entrusted to me for over a decade. I will move forward to embrace what God has in store for me and my family, and will do so with a gratitude and expectation that God has great things in store for us and University Heights as well.
Lori and I will be pretty busy over the next several weeks. We are looking forward to our 25th wedding anniversary and a trip that’s been on our calendar for some time. Upon our return, we’ll turn our attention to moving into a new house, community, and church.
Also, please remember our children as they gear up for school again this Fall. Cally will be a senior(!) at Missouri Southern and serving as Editor in Chief of “The Chart” school paper. Lucy will be a junior and Matt a freshman at Clinton High School; we are excited about their getting involved with the classes and activities that come with that.
Sunday’s coming. It’s going to be great morning of worship together. And, thanks to our Transition Committee for all their efforts to host a luncheon after the worship service. Let’s all hope the pastor isn’t too long winded.
Blessings to you all, and stay close to Jesus

Leave a comment