Happy Birthday Lucy and Happy New Year 2012

I’m sitting here watching Auburn lead Virginia 28-17 at halftime and thought it might not get better, so this would be a good time  to wish everyone a happy new year. I decided not to do any tebowing until tomorrow when the Broncos play the Chiefs–we’ll see how that works.

Our family has had a good Christmas break and I have worked in some vacation time as well. We made it down to Arkansas to the original boomtown and enjoyed a few days with extended family down there. It also corresponded with Lucy’s 9th birthday and for this reason we are especially grateful. She is doing well and growing up to be quite the big sister and young lady.

I’ve given some thought to resolutions going into the new year, but as I have in the past decided not to announce any of them. Perhaps more than at any other time, I believe that prayer must be central to everything I do this year. I am facing some opportunities as well as challenges and want to be sure to be obedient to what the Lord has in store for me and my family. I also think our church family needs to face 2012 with a keen awareness of the Lord’s presence and a willingness to do whatever is necessary to share the gospel with our community and world. I know I’ll have to deal with this more in the weeks and months ahead, but for now am grateful for the opportunity to live in Springfield, MO and watch my children grow up. I also want to be open to the Lord’s leadership and whatever that means.

According to the some “experts”, the world will come to an end in 2012. I don’t know whether that’s why the movie “deep impact” has been showing today but at any rate, let us all do our best to appreciate each day as it comes and not take anything for granted. I for one am ready to receive some good news, and our nation in general is ready to set a more optimistic tone.

We’ll all see what is to come, but today let me wish everyone a Happy New Year and all the best as we serve the Lord, together.

Leave a Reply

