Christmas 2009

With less than a week to go and three children nearing holiday meltdown, I wanted to extend Christmas best wishes to all my friends. I don’t have any unrealistic views of how many of you actually drop by but do appreciate your taking the time and interest in our church and my ramblings.

A Time magazine article from November indicated that this last decade was the worst we had since World War II times. It was entitled “Goodbye to the Decade from Hell” or something very akin to that. I won’t establish the link this time, but have worked through it and agree that the Millennium bug, 9/11, Katrina, and two economic crashes are enough to depress any of us. It’s no wonder so many of us have been in a sour mood.

Despite these reports, I do want to thank the Lord for my family. Lori, Cally, Lucy, and Matt have been blessings to me and I’m so thankful to have them in my life. They are SO ready for Christmas, and Cally and Lucy’s having birthdays this month have only added to the energy of the season. We are also so grateful for our church family and being in Springfield for these 2 1/2 years now. I’m hopeful for good things in 2010 as the Lord opens doors of service into our community. More about that later, but for now I hope that we’ll all count our blessings and celebrate the real reason for the season.

The photo above was taken at Barnes and Noble Bookstore. Our church supported a book fair for the Rountree Elementary School. I read a story to the kids, several choir members sang carols, and our own Bob and Marilyn did a great job as Santa and Mrs. Clause. Lucy didn’t want her picture with Santa, but when she saw who it was said “Oh, it’s just Mr. Bob” so that made it ok.

I’m pretty excited about having a week off next week but in the meantime will remain busy getting ready for Christmas Eve and the following Sunday. So, from my family to yours. . .  Merry Christmas!

2 thoughts on “Christmas 2009

Leave a Reply

