Tom Watson: close but no silver jug

I’m not much of a golfer, and it is difficult for me to sit on the couch and watch others play. It is good if I’m needing a nap and the green pastoral images are conducive for sleep. Yet, this weekend’s drama with Tom Watson made me sit up and cheer for the 59 year old.

Watson hadn’t won a major championship in decades, yet walked the British open course for four days after having hip replacement surgery last October. He handled himself with class and suffered an emotional loss that was painful to see. I can’t imagine how he must have felt getting so close.

Watson has inspired millions of golfers and non-golfers alike through his remarkable run at the silver jug trophy this weekend. I want to thank him for giving me something to cheer about, and giving the golf world in particular something to talk about other than Tiger Woods.

Leave a Reply

